Hyenas and Foxes

 

13d647ce0763659bc5a0792ad8b8b067.jpg

Art by Alexandra Loesser

 

Come find me sighing behind burly bushes,

soaking earth with blood,

foaming at the mouth as my heart rushes,

clawing deeper into rainy mud.

 

Howling at a distance, I hear a call,

of hyenas starving, fuming with rage,

and there’s another, I hear them all,

foxes snarling, ready to engage.

 

I hear the ground beat under their feet,

similar to the heart that makes my vessels throb.

Singing through the forests, here comes the fleet,

I see vultures encircling me atop.

 

Ready to tear me down to shreds,

leaving me with no way to run or hide,

the soil shall become my deathbed,

for hyenas and foxes all at once have arrived.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

